Happiness Tasted !

Happiness came to me in the form of saabudaane ki khichdi today. Yayy I ate khichdi today. It may not sound a big deal but its a big deal for me considering the situation I am in. With in-laws around, I am not in my comfort zone to cook anything which I feel like eating.  I cant voice my cravings for these simple refreshments.

Its not like they stop me or I don’t have the right to cook what I want. The thing is the in-laws are not much interested in North Indian fare like poha and khichdi. I don’t feel like  preparing it if everyone is not interested or specially if they give a look or eat like they are forced to eat jail kind food.

But there are times when I cant resist my cravings and then my messiah…yes my Seepi has to come into action. He becomes my mouthpiece. He expresses his feelings to eat this dish ( whether he himself likes it or not :P) and maa kya pyaar cant shrug off his interest. And then the MIL herself says….prepare it for Seepi, he likes it naa. And I jump in my head with happiness.

So, I finally ate khichdi today. Its one of my favourite. I have many childhood memories attached to it. My mum used to fast every Thursday and we used to be very excited that we will get to eat khichdi today. Needless to mention here, my mum prepares it so delicious. Me n my sister often used to keep fast only for the sake of khichdi. Such was the craze.

My soul is satisfied after getting this small joy. Happiness tasted after a long time.

PS : MIL quiet liked it. I hope she herself ask me to prepare it next time.

2 thoughts on “Happiness Tasted !”

  1. And I tasted happiness knowing you have your seepi to become your voice when you can’t have your own….loved reading the post…got tiny mini tears recollecting those days…love you loads 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment